16 weeks pregnant

 So I think it is definitely time for a wee update! Sorry it has been so long. Being pregnant + parenting a toddler + working part-time means I seem to have very little time for blogging. I do like to stay quite active on social media, especially Instagram so you will always see me over there!

I am now 16+1 weeks pregnant. The last time I updated the blog I was still in the early stages of pregnancy. Since then, we went for a scan at our clinic and confirmed that I had one baby on board (phew!). Waiting for that first scan was excruciating. The worry and anxiety that something could go wrong was almost all consuming. Thankfully, we had a very busy toddler to keep our minds off of all things pregnancy related! At our scan, our sonographer noticed that baby was measuring about 5 days smaller than expected. That worried us slightly but we were told that it was normal and not to get anxious about it. Although we were reassured to see baby and to see a nice healthy heartbeat, we were still a bit worried about the fact that baby was measuring smaller that he/she should be. So a couple of weeks later, we paid for a private scan to check that everything was going well. We were relieved to see that our little bean had grown. He/she was still measuring around 5 days smaller than expected but at least he/she was growing consistently!

   
 
After this, we got booked in with our midwife and got our appointment through for our dating scan at the hospital. Heading back to the hospital filled me with a mixture of emotions. It was the place where I first met our little boy so it felt amazing to walk back through the doors. However, I think I am still carrying a little trauma from my birthing experience so my excitement was tinged with some reluctance to return.

At our dating scan, we discovered that baby was still measuring around 5 days smaller than expected so my due date was adjusted accordingly. Initially, my due date was 16th March. It has now been pushed forward to 21st March. Seeing baby wriggle around on the screen at our scan was completely mind blowing! You would think that the excitement of scans might be a little less with a second baby but it is just as amazing to see!

  

I had my 16 week midwife appointment today and heard baby’s wee heartbeat and our 20 week scan is at the beginning of November. I am feeling super tired at the moment. I remember being tired when I was pregnant with J but at least I could come home from work and have a wee nap. Now I feel like I’m constantly on the go until J’s bedtime then I collapse in a heap on the sofa! I’ve also been feeling quite nauseous in the afternoons and evenings. Nothing too severe, I just feel a bit yuck and don’t really fancy eating much. This weekend I started to feel little movements too. I didn’t feel anything until around 17 weeks when I was pregnant with J so it’s been really nice to get some movements a little earlier this time. We haven’t even started thinking about any of the “baby stuff” that we need yet! I can’t quite bring myself to take all of J’s baby things down from the loft and go through them all yet, I think my pregnancy emotions would get the better of me!
Kirsty, J and I enjoyed what will probably be our last family holiday as a threesome last weekend. We went to a wee village just outside of Pitlochry and stayed in a caravan at a little holiday park. The rain was relentless but we threw on our waterproofs and spent the weekend splashing in puddles and exploring the landscape. It was perfect!

   
   
Now the countdown is on to our 20 week scan when we will find out if we are having a boy or a girl. I had really wanted a surprise this time and to wait until baby was born to find out. However, Kirsty as adamant that she had to know so we will be finding out. I have a really strong feeling that we are having a girl. I suppose only time will tell!

  
Hopefully I won’t wait so long before updating again J

Leave a comment